NRCP and UPLB pursue shared goal in capacitating HEIs for research

The Research and Development Leadership (RDLead), implemented by the National Research Council of the Philippines (NRCP) joined the latest ceremonial signing of a memorandum of agreement (MOU) of the University of the Philippines Los Baños – Office for the Institutional Development in Higher Education (UPLB OIDHE) with the Bohol Island State University (BISU) on March 18, 2024. The ceremony marks a significant step towards stronger academic and educational cooperation between UPLB and BISU and opens a new collaboration opportunity between NRCP and UPLB.

Marian P. De Leon, Assistant to the Vice Chancellor for Research and Extension & Director, Museum of Natural History, Jenielyn T. Padrones, Director, Office for Institutional Development in Higher Education, Dr. Jose V. Camacho, Jr., Chancellor, UPLB, Dr. Anthony M. Penaso, University President, BiSU, Roxanne P. Altea, Campus Director, Calape Campus, Judith C. Odfeminina, Director, Office of Planning & Strategic Foresight, Calape Campus, and other witnesses from UPLB and BiSU.

BISU formerly received support from the RDLead in capacitating its researchers and personnel. It is among the 72 institutions that was supported during the RDLead’s pilot run from July 2018 – March 2023. It was mentored by RD Leader, Dr. Esperanza Maribel G. Agoo.

Since the completion of the RDLead engagement, BISU managed to secure more external research grants from various sources. Given the continuing need for support, the agreement between BISU and UPLB OIDHE is a step towards sustaining the gains from BISU’s RDLead engagement to ensure sustained influx of research opportunities for BISU and its personnel.

The support provided by the UPLB OIDHE ranges from exchange of faculty and researchers, students, academic information and materials, and the conduct of collaborative research and extension projects, lectures, symposia, capacity building programs and others.

Also joining BISU during the MOA/MOU signing are the Our Lady of Fatima University (OLFU), represented by Dr. Caroline Marian S. Enriquez, and Western Mindanao State University represented by Dr. Ma. Carla A. Ochotorena.