The Division of Mathematical Sciences is composed of about 125_ eligible researchers from leading educational institutions of the country, like the University of the Philippines (Diliman and Los Banos), the Ateneo de Manila University, the De La Salle University, and the Mindanao State University (Marawi and Iligan).

This Division through the Council is linked to International Mathematics Union.


Now, in this age of Information Technology, the this Division envisions to address the growing demands for knowledge, skills and other innovations in the different fields of mathematics and computer science.

At this end, this Division exhorts all its members to engage in researches on statistics, actuarial science, operation research, computer science, measure and integration, group theory, combinatorics and graph theory and other areas in “pure” mathematics.


There has been a tremendous growth in the Mathematical Sciences in the last 30 years. There are now 100 major fields in Mathematics and related sciences. Each of these fields has at least ten subfields where research could be focused. The country has a very limited number of local researchers who may be tapped to work on these fields.

In consideration of this dearth, this Division prioritizes project proposals according to its potential impact to the country’s current problems and concerns. Likewise, project proposals that will address the current interest of the international mathematics community are encouraged.

Twitter   Linkedin   Facebook