New NRCP Governing Board member Dr. Clarita R. Carlos (6th from L) is joined by DOST Undersecretary for S&T Services Dr. Carol M. Yorobe (5th from L) and the NRCP Governing Board 2018-2019 led by NRCP President Dr. Ramon A. Razal (4th from L). From left: Dr. Marieta Bañez Sumagaysay, executive director; Dr. Edanjarlo J. Marquez, Division of Earth and Space Sciences chair ; and Dr. Adelaida F. Lucero, Division of Humanities chair. From right: Dr. Cecilia Junio-Sabio, Division I (Governmental, Educational, and International Policies) representative; Dr. Arnel A. Salvador, Vice President and Division of Physics chair; Dr. Jovencio G. Apostol, Division of Pharmaceutical Sciences chair; Dr. Raul V. Destura, Division of Medical sciences chair; Dr. Polly W. Sy, Treasurer and mathematical sciences chair; Dr. Mafel C. Ysrael, chemical Sciences chair; and Dr. Maria Natalia R. Dimaano, Corporate Secretary and Division of Engineering and Industrial Sciences chair. (Photo by George Robert E. Valencia III, DOST-NRCP)

Last to be sworn in on Wednesday, 11 April 2018, as National Research Council of the Philippines (DOST-NRCP) Governing Board Member is Dr. Clarita R. Carlos, a Political Science expert and Professor 12 (ret.) from the University of the Philippines Diliman. The new NRCP Member-at-Large took her oath of office before Department of Science and Technology (DOST) Undersecretary for Scientific and Technical Services and former Department Representative to the NRCP Governing Board, Dr. Carol M. Yorobe, during the 1012th Board Meeting held at the Paulo Campos Conference Room, Bicutan, Taguig City.

An expert on foreign defense and security policy, Dr. Carlos has taught in UP Diliman for 50 years. Among her distinctions include the UP Most Outstanding Teacher Award, the first woman and civilian President of the National Defense College of the Philippines (1998-2001), and professorial distinction titles in UP, namely the Maximo Kalaw Professor of Peace and Environment and Elpidio Quirino Professor of International Relations.

She obtained her Doctoral and Master’s in Political Science from UP Diliman and wrote books on democratic deficit, electoral reform, political parties, population ageing, and bureaucratic reform. She was also Fulbright Visiting Fellow for Political Psychology at Cornell University and Fulbright Senior Scholar for Comparative Foreign Policy Analysis at UCLA. (George Robert E. Valencia III, DOST-NRCP; information from Mariel Aubrey Castañeda)

Professor Carlos taking her oath of office as new NRCP Governing Board member before DOST Undersecretary for S&T Services Dr. Yorobe together with NRCP President Dr. Razal. (Photo by George Robert E. Valencia III, DOST-NRCP)