Three new members of the NRCP Governing Board—(L -R) Dr. Lawrence P. Dacuycuy, NRCP Division VIII (Social Sciences) chair, Dr. Michael Angelo B. Promentilla, NRCP Division VII (Engineering and Industrial Research) chair, and Dr. Gisela P. Concepcion, Member-at-Large—recite their oath (‘Panunumpa’) administered by DOST Secretary Fortunato T. de la Peña witnessed by the NRCP GB members and staff on Tuesday, 29 March 2022 at the Meeting Room 3, Philippine International Convention Center, during the Organizational Meeting of the NRCP Governing Board.

The National Research Council of the Philippines (NRCP) inducted three new and five reelected members of its Governing Board (GB) Tuesday, 29 March 2022 at the Meeting Room 3, Philippine International Convention Center (PICC), Pasay City. Prof. Fortunato T. de la Peña, Department of Science and Technology (DOST) Secretary and former NRCP President (2002 – 2007) administered their oath during the NRCP GB’s first face-to-face meeting since the pandemic’s onset in 2020.

The new and reelected Council GB members will serve for two years from 1 April 2022 to 31 March 2024. They, along with the rest of the GB and its newly elected officers, will lead the over 4,000 researchers who belong to any of the 13 disciplinal Divisions, from the natural and social sciences, to the engineering, and allied fields, and the humanities, across the Philippine regions.

The new Members of the GB are: Gisela P. Concepcion, professor emeritus at the Marine Science Institute, University of the Philippines (UP) Diliman and academician (Member-at-Large); Michael Angelo B. Promentilla, chemical engineering professor at the De La Salle University (DLSU) (Chair, NRCP Division VII - Engineering and Industrial Research); and Dr. Lawrence B. Dacuycuy, economics professor also at the DLSU (Chair, NRCP Division VIII - Social Sciences).

The three envision the Council’s full attainment of its research-policy advisory mandates and the contribution of significant positive impact to the Philippine society. They strongly support the Council’s sustained internationalization and the robust empowerment of local researchers and scientists, especially younger researchers. They also press for greater involvement of members in Council activities and discussions.

The Council also recently reelected five Division Chairs: Marie Paz E. Morales, science education professor at the Philippine Normal University (Chair, NRCP Division I - Governmental, Educational, and International Policies); Leslie Michelle M. Dalmacio, molecular biologist at the UP Manila (Chair, NRCP Division III - Medical Sciences); Erna C. Arollado, pharmacy professor also at the UP Manila (Chair, NRCP Division IV -Pharmaceutical Sciences); Renato SA. Vega, animal science professor at the UP Los Baños (Chair, Division VI – Agriculture and Forestry); and Maribel G. Nonato, chemistry professor at the University of Santo Tomas and academician (Chair, NRCP Division X – Chemical Sciences).

Completing the 16-seat NRCP GB are continuing Division Chairs, Fidel R. Nemenzo, chair of NRCP Division II (Mathematical Sciences) and mathematics professor at UP Diliman; Marian P. de Leon, chair of NRCP Division V (Biological Sciences) and biology professor at UP Los Baños; Hope Sabanpan-Yu, chair of NRCP Division XI (Humanities) and professor at the Cebuano Studies Center, University of San Carlos; Karlo L. Queaño, chair of NRCP Division XII (Earth and Space Sciences) and geologist at the Mines and Geosciences Bureau; Rio John T. Ducusin, chair of the NRCP Division XIII (Veterinary Medicine) and professor of veterinary clinical sciences at the UP Los Baños; NRCP Member-at-Large and Biology Professor at the UP Los Baños, Aimee Lynn A. Barrion-Dupo; and DOST Representative to the Governing Board and Undersecretary for Research and Development, Dr. Rowena Cristina L. Guevara. (George Robert E. Valencia III, OED-OP)


The Members of the National Research Council of the Philippines Governing Board (2022-2023) with DOST Secretary Fortunato T. de la Peña. From L-R: Dr. Lawrence B. Dacuycuy, new Division VIII (Social Sciences) chair; Dr. Gisela P. Concepcion, new Member-at-Large; Dr. Michael Angelo B. Promentilla, new Division VII (Engineering and Industrial Research) chair; Dr. Marie Paz E. Morales, reelected Division I (Governmental, Educational, and International Policies); Dr. Marian P. de Leon, continuing Division V (Biological Sciences) chair; Dr. Leslie Michelle M. Dalmacio, reelected Division III (Medical Sciences) chair; Dr. Renato SA. Vega, reelected Division VI (Agriculture and Forestry) chair; DOST Secretary Fortunato de la Peña; Dr. Cristine D. Villagonzalo, continuing Division IX (Physics) chair; Dr. Fidel R. Nemenzo, continuing Division II (Mathematical Sciences) chair; Dr. Maribel G. Nonato, reelected Division X (Chemical Sciences) chair; Dr. Erna C. Arollado, reelected Division IV (Pharmaceutical Sciences) chair; Dr. Karlo L. Queaño, continuing Division XII (Earth and Space Sciences) chair; Dr. Hope Sabanpan-Yu, continuing Division XI (Humanities) chair; and Dr. Rio John T. Ducusin, continuing Division XIII (Veterinary Medicine) chair. (Not in the photo: Dr. Aimee Lynn A. Barrion-Dupo, continuing Member-at-Large, and Dr. Rowena Cristina L. Guevara, DOST Representative to the NRCP Governing Board) (All photos by Val A. Zabala, NRCP Library Section)


The Members of the NRCP Governing Board (2022-2023), together with Outgoing Members, (9th from L) Dr. Ramon Christian P. Eusebio (Treasurer and Chair, Division VII – Engineering and Industrial Research) and (10th from R) Dr. Gregorio E. H. del Pilar (President from July 2020- March 2022 and Chair, Division VIII – Social Sciences), and NRCP Executive Director Marieta Bañez Sumagaysay (Leftmost). (All photos by Val A. Zabala, NRCP Library Section)