The first NRCP Achievement Awardees’ Lecture Series, dubbed iShare: Stories of Inspiration and Creative Research will be held virtually on December 18, 2020, Friday, 10-11 am.

This is my story… and I share. – NRCP Achievement Awardees

For the very first time, the Achievement Awardees of the National Research Council of the Philippines (NRCP) will present not only their outstanding researches in their respective fields, but also share their life stories as successful researchers, and inspire the young as well as seasoned researchers in the country. This is the very first digital storytelling of the Council.

The first Achievement Awardees to share the creative side of their research life and inspire young minds and aspiring researchers are Dr. Teresa S. Encarnacion Tadem, Professor, College of Social Sciences and Philosophy, UP Diliman, NRCP Member of the Division of Social Sciences, and Dr. Anthony SF Chiu, University Fellow, Professor and Research Fellow, De La Salle University Manila, and Vice Chair, NRCP Division of Engineering & Industrial Research.

iShare sets the platform for achievement awardees to ultimately heighten the various publics’ awareness and engagement with scientists and appreciate the relevance of science in their lives. In inspiring the researchers in the country, iShare takes on the mantra “Be the best version of yourself” always.

In 2021, the digital storytelling will continue to be conducted. On February 24, 2021, Achievement Awardees Karlo L. Queaño, Ph.D. from the Division of Earth and Space Sciences and Geologist at Ateneo de Manila University, and Joyce L. Arriola, Ph.D., from the Division of HUmnaities and Professor at University of Santo Tomas will also share their storis in their journey in becoming Achievement Awardees. Scheduled on March 25, 2021 are Dr. Elmer S. Estacio from the Physics Division and Professor at University of the Philippines, National Institute of Physics, and Dr. Rowena DT. Baconguis from the Division of Governmental, Educational and International Policies and Professor at University of the Philippines Los Baños will share their stories.
This lecture series of the NRCP Achievement Awardees is part of the 85th anniversary of the NRCP. Since 1979, NRCP has given recognition to its members with outstanding contribution to the body of knowledge in science and to the country’s nation-building initiatives dubbed as the NRCP Achievement Awards.

The joining link for the first webinar will be provided to NRCP members and guests on 16 December 2020. The Council also encourages the non-members to pre-register for free using this link:

During the first iShare webisode on December 18, DOST-NRCP Executive Director Dr. Marieta Banez Sumagaysay will tell the story how this digital storytelling came to be. Dr. Hope S. Yu, Chair of NRCP’s Division of Humanities and a 2020 Gawad Pambansang Alagad ni Balagtas (Gawad Balagtas) awardee will be the Moderator.