NRCP members in a virtual oath taking ceremony during the 17th General Membership Assembly of the Visayas Regional Cluster (top photo) and 18th General Membership Assembly of the Mindanao Regional Cluster (bottom photo).

The National Research Council of the Philippines (NRCP) through its President Dr. Gregorio E.H. Del Pilar inducted a total of 70 Associate Members and 15 Regular Members during the annual General Membership Assemblies held recently for the Visayas and the Mindanao Regions in separate events.

Dr. Del Pilar has sworn to oath 37 Associate and 10 Regular Members during the 17th General Membership Assembly of the NRCP Visayas Regional Cluster last 20 October 2020; and 33 Associate and 5 Regular Members during the 18th General Membership Assembly of the NRCP Mindanao Regional Cluster last 30 October 2020. Both oath taking ceremonies were held virtually.

This general membership assembly of the regional clusters of NRCP is an annual event which offers opportunities to NRCP members in Visayas and Mindanao to get the latest from breakthrough researches conducted in the regions; learn the updates on membership policies and new programs that they could participate in; and be able to link themselves with multidisciplinary group of researchers and scientists in and around their areas.

Members of NRCP can avail of benefits and privileges such as funding for basic research projects, capacity and professional development opportunities (e.g. sponsored trainings, workshops, and seminars; free publication in NRCP Journal), and be engaged as experts and advisers for a variety of advisorial and consultancy services, among others.

NRCP created the Visayas and Mindanao regional clusters so members from these areas stay involved and actively engaged in NRCP activities, research programs, and regular membership assemblies. The activities of the regional clusters are planned and coordinated by its own regional cluster officers particularly initiatives that could sustain membership promotional drives in the regions. Dr. Doralyn Dalisay based in University of San Agustin, Iolilo City, chairs the Visayas Regional Cluster; while Dr. Ephrime Metillo of the Mindanao State University-Iligan Institute of Technology chairs the Mindanao Regional Cluster. They both serve an office term together with the rest of the regional cluster officers for 2019 to 2021.