Transparency Seal

News or Updates
Latest News
Previous Issues
News Feed
NRCP Structure
Organizational Chart
Scientific Divisions
Governing Board
Regional Clusters
Committee of the Board
Constitution and By-Laws
Citizen's Charter
Presentation Papers
Other Resource Materials
Members' Activities
NRCP Research Journal
Research Breakthroughs
Coffee Tablebook
Bid and Procurement
Research Grants
Thesis and Dissertation Grants

The National Research Council of the Philippines (NRCP), a collegial and science advisory body of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) announced the results of the elections of new members of its Governing Board.

The election was held during its 84th General Membership Assembly and Annual Scientific Conference held last 22 March 2017, at the Reception Hall of the Philippine International Convention Center, Pasay City which was participated by around a thousand NRCP member researchers, scientists, and technologists across the country.

The members of the Governing Board are the chairpersons of the NRCP 13 scientific divisions with 2 NRCP members-at-large, and a high ranking official representing the DOST.  All are elected by the members except for the DOST representative.
NRCP members cast ballots for new Chairs; then, as its first order of business, the new Board elected the organization's officers.

The new members of NRCP Governing Board are Dr. Arvin C. Diesmos - Chair, Division of Biological Sciences; Dr. Edanjarlo J. Marquez -- Chair, Division of Earth and Space Sciences; and Dr. Claro N. Mingala – Chair, Division of Veterinary Medicine.

On the other hand, the members of the Governing Board elected Dr. Cristina A. Binag as the new NRCP President and Drs. Leslie E. Bauzon, Maria Natalia R. Dimaano, and Mildred B. Oliveros were elected as Vice-President, Corporate Secretary, and Treasurer respectively.

Drs.  Binag, Bauzon, Oliveros, and Dimaano correspondingly chair the divisions of Chemical Sciences,  Social Sciences, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Engineering/Industrial Research.

The other members of the Governing Board who will be continuing their respective terms are Dr. Maricar S. Prudente – Chair, Governmental, Educational, and International Policies; Dr. Polly W. Sy – Chair, Mathematical Sciences; Dr. Raul V. Destura – Chair, Medical Sciences; Dr. Ramon A. Razal – Chair, Agriculture and Forestry; Dr. Arnel A. Salvador – Chair, Physics; and Dr. Adelaida F. Lucero – Chair, Humanities.

Both National Scientist Edgardo D. Gomez and Acd. Filemon A. Uriarte, Jr. still hold the rank of Member-at-Large while DOST Undersecretary for S&T Services, Dr. Carol M. Yorobe is still the DOST Representative to the NRCP Governing Board.

Twitter   Linkedin   Facebook   

Back to Top