Transparency Seal

News or Updates
Latest News
Previous Issues
News Feed
NRCP Structure
Organizational Chart
Scientific Divisions
Governing Board
Regional Clusters
Committee of the Board
Constitution and By-Laws
Citizen's Charter
Presentation Papers
Other Resource Materials
Members' Activities
NRCP Research Journal
Research Breakthroughs
Coffee Tablebook
Bid and Procurement
Research Grants
Thesis and Dissertation Grants

2016 – 2017 DOST NRCP GOVERNING BOARD OFFICERS (L - R) Dr. Christina A. Binag, Corporate Secretary; Dr. Leslie E. Bauzon, Vice-President; Dr. Rowena Cristina L. Guevara, DOST Representative; NS Edgardo D. Gomez, President; Dr. Mildred B. Oliveros, Corporate Treasurer; Dr. Polly Wee Sy, Asst. Corporate Treasurer; not in the picture is Dr. Decibel V. Faustino-Eslava, Asst. Corporate Secretary.

31 March 2016. National Scientist Edgardo D. Gomez was elected as the new President of the 15-seat Governing Board of the National Research Council of the Philippines (NRCP).

NS Gomez is a marine biologist with expertise on coral reef ecology and restoration, conservation of marine resources, and reproduction of marine invertebrates and culture of giant clams.

NS Gomez is known as the pioneer of the world’s first national assessment of damage to coral reef.  This endeavor has led to various international coral reef conservation programs like re-planting/re-building.  He is also known for establishing giant clam breeding station in Bolinao and in various coastal communities in the country and setting the research trend on ocean acidification caused by increased level of absorbed carbon dioxide.

NS Gomez has served the Marine Science Institute of the University of the Philippines Diliman as Director for a total of 20 years (1975 – 1995; 1996 - 2000).  He is University Professor Emeritus since 2005.

NS Gomez joined the NRCP Division of Biological Sciences in 1974 and has been an active Regular Member for 42 years.  He was elected NRCP Member-at-Large during the NRCP Annual Scientific Conference and 83rd General Membership Assembly held at the Philippine International Convention Center on March 16, 2016.

Other elected officers who will be working with NS Gomez for the period 2016 – 2017, are: Dr. Leslie E. Bauzon, Chair of the Division of Social Sciences as Vice-President; Dr. Cristina A. Binag, Chair of the Division of Chemical Sciences as Corporate Secretary; Dr. Mildred B. Oliveros, Chair of the Division of Pharmaceutical Sciences as Corporate Treasurer; Dr. Decibel V. Faustino-Eslava, Chair of the Division of Earth and Space Sciences as Asst. Corporate Secretary; and Dr. Polly Wee Sy, Chair of Division Mathematics as Asst. Corporate Treasurer.

Completing the seats of the 2016 – 2017 NRCP Governing Board are newly elected Division Chairs: Dr. Maricar S. Prudente for the Division of Governmental, Educational, and International Policies; Dr. Raul V. Destura for the Division of Medical Sciences; Dr. Ramon A. Razal for the Division of Agriculture and Forestry; Dr. Maria Natalia R. Dimaano for the Division of Engineering and Industrial Research; and Dr. Filemon A. Uriarte, Jr. as Member-at-Large.

In continuance of term as Division Chairs are: Dr. Claro M. Santiago, Jr. for the Division of Biological Sciences; Dr. Arnel A. Salvador for the Division of Physics; Dr. Adelaida F. Lucero for the Division of Humanities; Dr. Mildred A. Padilla for the Division of Veterinary Medicine. (jacarteciano, S&T Mediacore)

Twitter   Linkedin   Facebook   

Back to Top